Gorilla Radio Flashbacks with Chris Cook, Mike McCarthy September 4th, 2000

Last week victims of the tainted blood scandal voted to accept an out of court settlement of cash in return for promises to drop future litigation against the Canadian Red Cross. To many, the money involved is a slap in the face, barely enough to cover funeral costs, but to the desperate and dying, it’s a chance to salvage something out of a bitter fight that drags on, while plaintiffs die waiting for justice.

On today’s program, Mike McCarthy, Vice President of the Canadian Hemophilia Society, and the lead plaintiff for the class action suit brought by those infected before 1986 and after 1990. He’s also the lead plaintiff in the billion dollar prison blood lawsuit, and he’ll be here in the first half of the program talking about blood on the hands of the mighty in Canada and the United States.

Liked it? Take a second to support Chris Cook and Gorilla Radion on Patreon!
Chris Cook

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, airing live every Thursday, 11-Noon Pacific Time. In Victoria at 101.9FM, on the internet at: cfuv.ca, and archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. He also serves as a contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, which you can now support at Petreon.com. Check out the GR blog at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.ca/. G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Denis Halliday, Julia Butterfly Hill, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Stefania Maurizi, Greg Palast, Michael Parenti, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Joan Russow, Danny Schechter, Vandana Shiva, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.