Gorilla Radio with Chris Cook, Andrea Morison, Ken Boon, David Barsamian May 6, 2015

Despite more than a generation of resistance to the proposed mega-dam in the heart of the Peace River Valley, and the dubious assessment by the government's own Review Panel of the project, BC premier Christy Clark recently announced her party's determination to go ahead with Site-C.

Work has begun, but that does not mean resistance has ended. Next week the Union of BC Indian Chiefs, together with the Wilderness Committee, Sierra Club of BC, Amnesty International, and the Peace Valley Environmental Association will present, at Vancouver's Creekside Community Rec. Centre, an info. and solidarity event designed to inspire pushback here in the south to a project promising severe disruption to the lives of people and wildlife in B.C.'s north.

Andrea Morison is spokesperson for the PVEA, Peace Valley Environmental Association. She holds a Masters of Natural Resource Management degree and has worked in that field in both Ontario and BC for more than 25 years; the last four years of which has been devoted to the PVEA's involvement with the environmental assessment process for Site-C. And Ken Boon is president of the Peace Valley Landowners Association, the group that's taken the BC government to the Supreme Court to stop the project.

Andrea Morison and ken Boon in the first half.

And; next week the University of Victoria's Student Union Building will play host to media pioneer, David Barsamian. For almost thirty years, Barsamian has done with his award-winning, groundbreaking radio program, Alternative Radio what very few have managed to do: make a living producing independent, unembedded, muckraking reportage that not only speaks truth to power, but slaps it upside the head. As his website, AlternativeRadio.org reminds, David is a recipient of: "…[T]he Media Education Award, the ACLU's Upton Sinclair Award for independent journalism, and the Cultural Freedom Fellowship from the Lannan Foundation." He's also been named, by The Institute for Alternative Journalism, a Top Ten Media Hero, and received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Rocky Mountain Peace and Justice Center. In addition to his prolific radio production, David Barsamian has also produced a plethora of books based on his interviews with: Arundhati Roy, Eqbal Ahmad, Howard Zinn, Tariq Ali, Richard Wolff, Edward Said, and Noam Chomsky. His latest book is, 'Power Systems: Conversations on Global Democratic Uprisings and the New Challenges to U.S. Empire,' another collaboration with professor Chomsky.

David Barsamian and making media in a time of warfare in the second half.

And; Victoria Street Newz publisher emeritus and CFUV Radio broadcaster, Janine Bandcroft will be here at the bottom of the hour to bring us up to speed with some of what's good to do in and around our town, and beyond there too, in the coming week. But first, Andrea Morison and Ken Boon on Site-C, a dam too damned far.

Liked it? Take a second to support Gorilla Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. on Patreon!
Chris Cook

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, airing live every Thursday, 11-Noon Pacific Time. In Victoria at 101.9FM, on the internet at: cfuv.ca, and archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. He also serves as a contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, which you can now support at Petreon.com. Check out the GR blog at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.ca/. G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, Eva Bartlett, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Michel Chossudovsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Jon Elmer, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Eva Golinger, Amy Goodman, Glenn Greenwald, Denis Halliday, Chris Hedges, Patrick Henningsen, Julia Butterfly Hill, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Diana Johnstone, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Naomi Klein, Frances Moore Lappe, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Janos Maté, Stefania Maurizi, Jennifer Moore, Alexandra Morton, Sharmine Narwani, Andrew Nikiforuk, Ken O'Keefe, Greg Palast, Dawn Paley, Michael Parenti, Robert Parry, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Joan Russow, Danny Schechter, David Schindler, Vandana Shiva, Tim Shorrock, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Linn Washington, Jr., Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.