Ape Goes to Public Consultation on Bill C-51 with MPs Randall Garrison and Murray Rankin Feb. 27, 2015

Went down to the First Metropolitan Church to listen in on the Official Opposition’s town hall on the draconian, proposed “Anti-Terrorism Act,” Bill C-51.

Here’s how the NDP describes the evening: What is in Stephen Harper’s omnibus Bill C-51? Does it address the security threats we face? Could it undermine civil liberties and stifle lawful dissent and activism? And is there a better way forward to protect both security and freedoms?

Join an expert panel and public discussion hosted by Members of Parliament Randall Garrison and Murray Rankin.

Featured panelists:

Reg Whitaker is a distinguished academic and expert in constitutional law and privacy issues. The co-author of ‘Secret Service: Political Policing in Canada’, he has written extensively on issues of intelligence and state surveillance and advised government inquiries on terrorism-related cases.

Laurel Collins teaches at the University of Victoria and studies social movements and collective action. She will speak to the ‘chilling effect’ this bill could have on lawful dissent and activism in Canada.

Randall Garrison is the Opposition critic for Public Safety and a key figure in the debate in Parliament on Bill C-51. A former criminal justice instructor, he is now Vice Chair of the House of Commons’ Committee on Public Safety and National Security.

Liked it? Take a second to support Gorilla Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. on Patreon!
Chris Cook

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, airing live every Thursday, 11-Noon Pacific Time. In Victoria at 101.9FM, on the internet at: cfuv.ca, and archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. He also serves as a contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, which you can now support at Petreon.com. Check out the GR blog at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.ca/. G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, Eva Bartlett, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Michel Chossudovsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Jon Elmer, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Eva Golinger, Amy Goodman, Glenn Greenwald, Denis Halliday, Chris Hedges, Patrick Henningsen, Julia Butterfly Hill, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Diana Johnstone, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Naomi Klein, Frances Moore Lappe, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Janos Maté, Stefania Maurizi, Jennifer Moore, Alexandra Morton, Sharmine Narwani, Andrew Nikiforuk, Ken O'Keefe, Greg Palast, Dawn Paley, Michael Parenti, Robert Parry, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Joan Russow, Danny Schechter, David Schindler, Vandana Shiva, Tim Shorrock, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Linn Washington, Jr., Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.