Gorilla Radio with Chris Cook, Eric de Place, Andrea Morison, Janine Bandcroft Dec. 17, 2014

Perhaps its the same force of gravity powering the flow of bitumen from the height of the Rockies, across the hills and dales of British Columbia, crossing its streams, dissecting its wildlife corridors, and concentrating down to the harbours of the great Pacific coast that concentrates too in the lower mainland, and at the provincial Legislature in Victoria, the basest lyingest, most con-jobbering, shit-hoarding, crap-peddling, self-serving shysters?

Maybe, after witnessing the likes of Gordon Campbell and his crew of privateers undermine the province for profit with the likes of Enron/Arthur Andersen progeny Accenture, we should not be surprised at the depths of depravity our so-called government is willing to sink in the service of corporate profit. Maybe.

Last year, Kinder Morgan applied to build a new pipeline across the province to deliver Tar Sands bitumen to Vancouver, and the sons of Enron’s former Liquid Pipelines got the “Good to go!”

Last week, the Seattle-based nonprofit research and communications center think tank, the Sightline Institute released a report on their findings on the doings of Kinder Morgan, and it should be enough to give even the BC Liberals pause — but will it?

Eric de Place is policy director, researcher, writer, speaker, and policy analyst for Sightline. He specialized in Sightline’s work on climate and energy policy, and is known as a leading expert on Northwest strategies to cut carbon pollution. He’s also a contributor to the Sightline report, ‘Energy Giant Kinder Morgan’s History of Pollution, Law-Breaking, Cover-ups.’

Eric de Place in the first half.

And; it’s hung Damoclesian-like over the heads of the residents of the Peace River Valley for decades: Proposed many times, but always turned around, the Site C mega-dam took a big step towards placing its watery footprint over a great swathe of north-central BC yesterday. Defying First Nations, environmentalists, energy experts, and even the recommendations of the government’s own Joint Review Panel, the Clark government gave the project a thumbs up, (and flipped a middle finger to the people of the Peace).

Andrea Morison is spokesperson for the PVEA, Peace Valley Environmental Association. She holds a Masters of Natural Resource Management degree and has worked in that field in both Ontario and BC for more than 25 years; the last four years of which has been devoted to the PVEA’s involvement with the environmental assessment process for Site C.

Andrea Morison and the damning of the Peace River Valley in the second half.

And; Victoria Street Newz publisher emeritus and CFUV Radio broadcaster, Janine Bandcroft will join us at the bottom of the hour to bring us up to speed with some of what’s good to do in and around our fair city, and beyond there too, for the coming week. But first, Eric de Place and getting to know Kinder Morgan.

Liked it? Take a second to support Gorilla Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. on Patreon!
Chris Cook

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, airing live every Thursday, 11-Noon Pacific Time. In Victoria at 101.9FM, on the internet at: cfuv.ca, and archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. He also serves as a contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, which you can now support at Petreon.com. Check out the GR blog at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.ca/. G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, Eva Bartlett, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Michel Chossudovsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Jon Elmer, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Eva Golinger, Amy Goodman, Glenn Greenwald, Denis Halliday, Chris Hedges, Patrick Henningsen, Julia Butterfly Hill, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Diana Johnstone, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Naomi Klein, Frances Moore Lappe, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Janos Maté, Stefania Maurizi, Jennifer Moore, Alexandra Morton, Sharmine Narwani, Andrew Nikiforuk, Ken O'Keefe, Greg Palast, Dawn Paley, Michael Parenti, Robert Parry, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Joan Russow, Danny Schechter, David Schindler, Vandana Shiva, Tim Shorrock, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Linn Washington, Jr., Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.