Ape Goes to the NDP Opposition Budget (Bill C- 38) Hearing on Vancouver Island

The New Democratic Official Opposition is hosting regional budget hearings across the country from May 22nd – May 25th. We want to hear your thoughts on the recent Omnibus Budget Bill and share with you information about the many non-budget measures hidden in the massive 425-page bill.

Wednesday May 23rd

7:00 PM – 9:00 PM

First Metropolitan United Church Fellowship Hall,
932 Balmoral Rd., Victoria

Vancouver Island MPs Denise Savoie (Victoria), Randall Garrison (Esquimalt-Juan de Fuca) and Jean Crowder (Nanaimo-Cowichan) invite you to a discussion on the Budget’s impact on you and on Vancouver Island’s communities.

One third of Bill C-38, the federal budget bill, has repercussions for the environment. Gutting the environmental assessment regime for the proposed Enbridge pipeline and all future large energy projects has a direct impact on First Nations and their territories, and on future generations of all Canadians, as do changes to eligibility for Old Age Security and employment insurance, food inspections, health-care and services for a new generation of veterans.

Fisheries habitat protection, supports for youth, archival programs that preserve Canada’s historical records and bo

Liked it? Take a second to support Gorilla Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. on Patreon!
Chris Cook

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, airing live every Thursday, 11-Noon Pacific Time. In Victoria at 101.9FM, on the internet at: cfuv.ca, and archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. He also serves as a contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, which you can now support at Petreon.com. Check out the GR blog at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.ca/. G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, Eva Bartlett, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Michel Chossudovsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Jon Elmer, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Eva Golinger, Amy Goodman, Glenn Greenwald, Denis Halliday, Chris Hedges, Patrick Henningsen, Julia Butterfly Hill, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Diana Johnstone, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Naomi Klein, Frances Moore Lappe, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Janos Maté, Stefania Maurizi, Jennifer Moore, Alexandra Morton, Sharmine Narwani, Andrew Nikiforuk, Ken O'Keefe, Greg Palast, Dawn Paley, Michael Parenti, Robert Parry, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Joan Russow, Danny Schechter, David Schindler, Vandana Shiva, Tim Shorrock, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Linn Washington, Jr., Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.