Ape Goes to BC Hydro Open House July 9, 2011

I went down to BC Hydro's open house, held at Hydro's West Saanich Rd. offices expecting a serious-minded attempt by the publicly-owned Crown Corporation to explain some of the serious concerns British Columbians have about the state of the Corporation regarding increased outsourcing, Run of River schemes gone bad, the controversial Site C dam, and the nearly billion dollars estimated to be spent on the extremely controversial SmartMeters program. What I found instead was hot dog stands, games for the kids, and a half-dozen booths full of feel good pamphlets and various other bits of corporate communications PR materials. Hydro president David Cobb did show up, and I managed a few words with him, and some more with the few demonstrating outside the event. – Ape.

[[Note: Reference to BC Electricity Commission (BCEC) should read "BC Utility Commission (BCUC). -ed]

Liked it? Take a second to support Gorilla Radio on Patreon!

Chris Cook

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, airing live every Wednesday, 1-2pm Pacific Time. In Victoria at 101.9FM, on the internet at: cfuv.uvic.ca, and archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. He also serves as a contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, which you can now support at Petreon.com. Check out the GR blog at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.ca/ G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, Eva Bartlett, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Michel Chossudovsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Jon Elmer, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Eva Golinger, Amy Goodman, Glenn Greenwald, Denis Halliday, Chris Hedges, Patrick Henningsen, Julia Butterfly Hill, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Diana Johnstone, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Naomi Klein, Frances Moore Lappe, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Janos Maté, Jennifer Moore, Alexandra Morton, Sharmine Narwani, Andrew Nikiforuk, Ken O'Keefe, Greg Palast, Dawn Paley, Michael Parenti, Robert Parry, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Danny Schechter, David Schindler, Vandana Shiva, Tim Shorrock, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Linn Washington, Jr., Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.